GMK-23.6.19FB-100.jpg

ABOUT

Named on CBC’s "30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians under 30" 2020 edition, violinist Marie Bégin has performed in recitals in Canada, the United States, Europe, the United Kingdom and China. She was soloist with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, the National Art Center Orchestra of Ottawa, the Club Musical de Québec, the Quebec Symphony Orchestra, Les Violons du Roy and the Agora Symphony Orchestra, among others. She is frequently invited to perform in several renowned ensembles, notably as concertmaster of the Violons du Roy and as assistant concertmaster of the Hulencourt Soloist Chamber Orchestra for concerts in Milan, Brussels and Spain. A passionate chamber player, she collaborates with renowned artists such as Charles Richard-Hamelin and Andrew Wan. At age 26, she was appointed first violin of the Saguenay Quartet (Alcan) as well as concertmaster of the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean Symphony Orchestra. She also forms a duo with pianist Samuel Blanchette-Gagnon with whom she recorded an album under the label Atma Classique. The album was released in summer 2021 and continues to receive dithyrambic reviews by the press.

 

A graduate of the Conservatoire de musique de Québec, she studied with Andrée Azar, Jean Angers and Darren Lowe. She then pursued her studies in Europe with Zakhar Bron, at his academy in Switzerland, but also at the Menuhin Academy, the Kronberg Academy and the Mozarteum University. She receives advices and support from several great musicians such as Maxim Vengerov, Pierre Amoyal, Mauricio Fuks, Christian Tetzlaff, Augustin Dumay, Miriam Fried and Rodney Friend, among many others.

 

Marie Bégin has been chosen among the 13 semi-finalists 2021 of the Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition. She also played in several major international competitions, including the Wieniawski International Violin Competition in Poland. She won several prizes including the grand prize at the Festival-Concours Pierre-de-Saurel and the international ROTARY “Douja d'Or” prize awarded by Switzerland, France, Germany and Italy . She is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Quebec Council for the Arts and Letters. She plays on a wonderful violin Carlo Bergonzi 1710-1715 graciously loaned by CANIMEX INC.

GMK-23.6.19FB-100.jpg

À PROPOS

Nommée par la CBC parmi les 30 jeunes musiciens les plus prometteurs du Canada en 2020, la violoniste canadienne Marie Bégin s’est produite en récital au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe, au Royaume-Uni et en Chine. Elle fut soliste pour le Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, l'Orchestre du Centre National des Arts d'Ottawales Violons du Roy, le Club Musical de Québec, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec et l’Orchestre Symphonique de l’Agora, entre autres. Elle est fréquemment invitée à se produire au sein de plusieurs ensembles réputés, notamment en tant que violon solo des Violons du Roy et assistante-violon solo du Hulencourt Soloist Chamber Orchestra, pour des concerts à Milan, à Bruxelles et en Espagne. Chambriste aguerrie, elle collabore avec des artistes de renom tels que Charles Richard-Hamelin et Andrew Wan. À 26 ans, elle remporte le poste de premier violon du Quatuor Saguenay (Alcan) et violon solo de l’Orchestre Symphonique du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean. 

Elle forme un duo avec le pianiste Samuel Blanchette-Gagnon avec qui elle a enregistré un album paru en juin 2021 sous étiquette Atma Classique. L'album fait l'objet de critiques élogieuses depuis sa sortie.

Diplômée du Conservatoire de musique de Québec, elle étudie auprès de Andrée Azar, Jean Angers et Darren Lowe. Elle se perfectionne par la suite en Europe, notamment en Suisse avec Zakhar Bron, au sein de son académie, mais aussi à la Kronberg Academy, en Allemagne, ainsi qu'à l'Université Mozarteum, en Autriche. Elle reçoit les judicieux conseils et le support de plusieurs grands musiciens tels que Maxim Vengerov, Pierre Amoyal, Mauricio Fuks, Christian Tetzlaff, Augustin Dumay, Miriam Fried et Rodney Friend, parmi plusieurs autres.

Marie Bégin est sélectionnée parmi les 13 demi-finalistes 2021 du Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition. Elle a également jouée pour le légendaire Concours International de violon Wieniawski en Pologne. Elle remporte plusieurs prix lors du plusieurs concours, notamment le prix international ROTARY de la « Douja d’Or » remis par la Suisse, la France, l’Allemagne et l’Italie. Elle est boursière du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec. Elle joue sur un magnifique instrument Carlo Bergonzi 1710-1715 gracieusement prêté par CANIMEX INC.